2014 SWECO Winners Award Ceremony on You Tube

on Wednesday, 23 April 2014. Posted in Sustaining Women's Empowerment in Communities and Organisations, ACLW Channel

The Australian Centre for Leadership for Women's annual Award,  ‘Sustaining Women’s Empowerment in Communities and Organisations’ (SWECO) Award, established in 2011, aims to honour women and men and groups who have developed a sustainable initiative to empower women in a community or organisation.

For ACLW's 2014 International Women's Day, SWECO Winners received their Trophy, Certificate and Prize money at Parliament House, Sydney on 5 March 2014. The Ceremony involved Gareth Ward MP; Minister for Women Pru Goward; Speaker of the House, Shelley Hancock MP and Minister for Citizenship and Communities and Aboriginal Affairs, Victor Dominello.

Proud Major Sponsor for 2014 SWECO is Minter Ellison. 

Special thanks are extended to Leanne McKay who voluntarily filmed the SWECO Awards Ceremony and produced the video, of which excerpts have been published below on You Tube.

Thank you to all the Judges for thier time and expertise in judging SWECO 2014. 


2014 Judging Panel 

Judges for the Community category:

  • Sue Conde, Former President, United Women Australia
  • Dr Richard Denniss, Executive Director, The Australia Institute
  • Maria Dimopoulos, Managing Director, MyriaD Consultants Pty Ltd
  • Terese Edwards, CEO, National Council of Single Mothers & their Children
  • Graham West, National Vice President, St Vincent de Paul Society & Consultant
  • Mike Zissler, CEO Lifeline Canberra 

Judges for the Organisations category:

  • Susan Ferrier, Head of PPC & Internal Communication, People, Performance & Culture, KPMG
  • Eddy De Gabriele, Managing Director Edmen Group & Chariman Regional Development Australia - Illawarra
  • Katy McDonald, National Director, People and Development, Minter Ellison
  • Associate Professor Lindsay Oades, Director, Australian Institute for Business Well Being University of Wollongong
  • Nareen Young, CEO, Diversity Council Australia 


In the Community category of 2014 SWECO the Winners are: 

Gold Winner: The Jewish Taskforce Against Family Violence (JTAFV) in Victoria

Silver Winner: Nasiba Akram 


 In the Organisations category of 2014 SWECO, the Winners are: 

Gold Winner: Women’s Health Goulburn North East (WHGNE) Victoria 

Silver Winner: Raise Foundation in Sydney 

Bronze Winner: Women’s Legal Service (Tasmania) Inc