Winners of the Leadership Achievement Award

on Monday, 21 May 2012. Posted in Leadership Achievement Award for Women (LAAW)

Winners of the Leadership Achievement Award
Honour Roll of Community Leaders

A number of Australian women who established self-initiating projects in the community and implemented them in collaboration with others were recognised by CLW for their leadership. 

Winners of the 2009 Leadership Achievement Award for Women were: 

Dr Jill Tomlinson, Australian Federation of Medical Women (AFMW)

Kath Mazzella for her vision in Gynaecological/Sexual issues

Melissa Hughes for creating an ongoing support group for women and families

Dr Cathy Kezelman for addressing the needs of adults surviving child abuse in the Australian community

Margaret Hardy for developing the Significant Women of the CentralCoast books to record women’s stories

Lynne Schulz for raising awareness about the problems faced by multiple birth loss families and for surviving multiple birth children

Justine Kelly for promoting eco friendly fashion in less developed countries


Winners of the 2008 Leadership Achievement Award for Women were: 

Sarah Elston and Caitlin Grigsby for turning around a small scale Blue Stockings university event to a community celebration of women’s achievements within Gippsland to fund and encourage the education of women from diverse backgrounds, particularly students from Monash Gippsland and VCE Latrobe Valley schools. 

Juliet Bourke for being the driving force behind the Taskforce on Care Costs (TOCC) since its inception in 2003.   The Taskforce on Care Costs was a strategic alliance between business and community organisations to investigate the relationship between work and the cost of care and to advocate reforms. 

Helen Anne Clarke for initiating support for women in drought affected areas of NSW through the “Hand to the Land” and “Renewal for Rural Women” Programmes

Paula Curotte in founding the “Soufflé Sisters,” a choir for women, singing uplifting music for the community

Danielle Ecuyer for founding the Women for Change Alliance to create awareness about climate change and sustainability

Rhonda Obad for founding the Bridge Back to Life Foundation to help children and youth who are at risk.

•Margaret Mary Gurry was awarded the Highly Commended Award for founding and co-ordinating for eleven years the Friday Night School for students of non-English speaking backgrounds.


Winners of the 2007 Leadership Achievement Award for Women were: 

Emma Kirkwood for her tremendous effort in raising awareness and funds for the silent issue of Stillbirth through founding the Stillbirth Foundation 

Jessica Brown for her achievements to break the cycle of abuse and suffering in Australian teenage girls by giving them a positive role model and having them attend a twelve month personal success program called the SISTER 2 sister Project.

Indu Balachandran who developed for Youth Challenge Australia a Program that provides exchange and development opportunities for young people in Australia and India.

Liz Everard for the Body Esteem Project in Western Australia for women affected by eating disorders such as Anorexia and Bulimia Nervosa and body image problems.

Gainore Atkins for developing the Hobsons Bay Women’s Referral Service in Victoria for women experiencing domestic violence or other abuse situations.

Celia Bray for the Festival of Dreams Project in Tasmania for helping young people realize their potential and move beyond obstacles posed by lack of jobs, lack of support and services.


Winners of the 2006 Leadership Achievement Award for Women were: 

Hélène Gonski for what she achieved on a grand scale in relation to raising and working on the issue of grandparenting, that up till then had not been given any mainstream focus. 

Melanie Mumford for influencing change in refugee and asylum seeker policy by sending a clear message that Australians support the fair treatment of refugees.

Louise Bannister for creating the six month Well and Able program that aimed to be an inclusive, fun, affordable fitness and social inclusion program in the form of a weekly fitness class with an individual program developed for each woman followed by social activities.

Christina Borisavljevic for establishing a Counselling and Support Service in Boambee East, NSW where she together with others, provide free counselling for members of the community and the disadvantaged.

Mary Hollingworth for reviving the Glen Innes Show Society Ladies Auxiliary committee of forty-five years standing and achieving outstanding outcomes for the catering/hospitality needs of the Show.

Kathryn Keen is being recognised for providing an online Ozark and Ozbird communications and information network for wildlife carers across Australia .